Board of Directors

The Mattie J.T. Stepanek Foundation Board of Directors is a body of elected members who jointly and voluntarily oversee the activities of the Foundation.

The Board’s activities are determined by the powers, duties, and responsibilities delegated to it by the organization’s bylaws, and agreed to by the Board of Directors during the annual Board meeting.

2020 Leadership:

Jennifer S. Stepanek, PhD – Board Chair, Chief Peace Officer & CEO

Laura J. Bauer, MPA – Executive Director

2020 Officers:

Cynda H. Rushton, PhD, RN, FAAN – President

Cynthia Dobbins, BS – Vice President

Barry J. McConatha, MA – Vice President

Joseph Palermino, Jr. – Treasurer

Maxwell Jones, Secretary

2020 Directors:

Marc David Birnbach

Dino Black

Karen L. Marshall, JD

Former Directors:

Robert Balkam (Founder & Vice President 2005-2010)
W. Thomas Curtis, EA, CFP (Founder & Treasurer 2005-2011)
Micah the Peace Puppy (Honorary Director 2005-2013)
Omékongo Dibinga (Director 2011-2013)
Christopher Dobbins (VP 2010-2013, Treasurer 2015-2018)
Heather Dobbins, PhD (Interim Treasurer 2011-2012)
Andrew Gordon (Director 2009; President 2010-2011)
Rich Gottfried (Treasurer 2012-2015)
Annie Kennedy (Director 2013-2016)
Marie Lê (Director 2011-2012)
Sandra Newcomb, PhD (Founder & Secretary 2005-2008)
Ann Y. Schmidt (President 2011-2014)
J. Stanley Schmidt (Executive Director 2006-2009)
Bridget Hart Shea, JD (Director 2010-2012)
Terrance Sheehan, MD (Founder & President 2005-2010)
Gail Sherman (Director 2011-2012)
Wendy Thompson (Director 2011-2014)
Janis Tripodakis (Director 2013-2014)
Jackie Zamora (Director 2017-2019)